EXETOOLS FORUM  

Go Back   EXETOOLS FORUM > General > Software Release

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2011, 21:58
diablo2oo2's Avatar
diablo2oo2 diablo2oo2 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 231
Thanks: 6
Thanked 111 Times in 26 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
diablo2oo2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile diablo2oo2's Universal Patcher v2.23

Quote:
[2.23 Final]
-fixed music playback bug
-fixed bug: open *.dUP2 files with dup2.exe
-fixed bug: crash when option "do not check original bytes" is enabled
-fixed bug: commandline parameter "/startupworkdir" did not work
-any bytepattern format will be accepted when it is pasted
-added plugin support
-added ASLR support
-added DLL patching support for the loader
Quote:
Download
http://diablo2oo2.di.funpic.de/downloads/dup2.rar
If you are interested in plugin development and need some help, visit the forum:
http://diablo2oo2.di.funpic.de/forum
__________________
Thinking In Bytes
Reply With Quote
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to diablo2oo2 For This Useful Post:
aldente (09-21-2011), Asus (09-29-2011), chessgod101 (09-23-2011), deroko (09-24-2011), dnvthv (09-20-2011), JeRRy (09-24-2011), MarcElBichon (09-24-2011), narciszu (09-20-2011), nikkapedd (09-21-2011), rooky2000 (09-26-2011), |roe (09-22-2011)
  #2  
Old 09-23-2011, 05:48
*RemedY* *RemedY* is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 116
Thanks: 18
Thanked 72 Times in 30 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
*RemedY* is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi diablo,

thanks a lot for implementing those new features.
However, I have a couple of hickups with this new version.
Here they are:

1. When creating a loader (in a directory I have full access to), I occasionally got this error:

Code:
 
Error - Can not write to file
EndUpdateResource Function failed
2. When executing a loader, the loader keeps running after the main program has stopped - e.g. if I make a loader for calc.exe, the loader will still be running after calc.exe has been closed

3. You cannot overwrite an existing .dup2 project file. A new one has to be created.

That's it so far. There is one more thing but that's more a wish than a problem. I'd love to see a feature in DUP that let's you check if a loader successfully patched the target and if not why it failed. Some kind of (defeatable) log so to say. For instance:

07.15.30 loader started
07.15.31 loader successfully started target.
07.15.31 loader lailed to patch target at 0x12345678 Reason: cannot find provided pattern

or something the like. You know what I mean

Again, thanks a lot for your great tool.

Best regards
*RemedY*
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2011, 06:30
diablo2oo2's Avatar
diablo2oo2 diablo2oo2 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 231
Thanks: 6
Thanked 111 Times in 26 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
diablo2oo2 is an unknown quantity at this point
1.
he EndUpdateResource Function dont work if you run AV software:
http://diablo2oo2.di.funpic.de/forum/index.php?topic=875.0
thats a windows or AV bug.

2.
i need more details. is it just a simple offset patch ?

3.
erm, i will fix this soon.
__________________
Thinking In Bytes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2011, 07:00
*RemedY* *RemedY* is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 116
Thanks: 18
Thanked 72 Times in 30 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
*RemedY* is an unknown quantity at this point
to 1.
Ah, ok. I just wondered because it doesn't fail everytime but occasionally.

to 2.
yes it's just a two-byte offset patch for testing purpose. If I start the loader 3-times and close calc.exe afterwards I have 3 running instances of the loader.

to 3.
Thank you

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2011, 02:37
diablo2oo2's Avatar
diablo2oo2 diablo2oo2 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 231
Thanks: 6
Thanked 111 Times in 26 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
diablo2oo2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by *RemedY* View Post
to 2.
yes it's just a two-byte offset patch for testing purpose. If I start the loader 3-times and close calc.exe afterwards I have 3 running instances of the loader.
i do not know where to find this bug in the code.
__________________
Thinking In Bytes
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2011, 15:15
*RemedY* *RemedY* is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 116
Thanks: 18
Thanked 72 Times in 30 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
*RemedY* is an unknown quantity at this point
Shall I send you an example project so you can check that on your own machine? Maybe that's just a problem on some computers. I'm on Win 7 SP1 if that's somehow important.

Thanks for taking your time to look into this issue.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-2011, 21:45
diablo2oo2's Avatar
diablo2oo2 diablo2oo2 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 231
Thanks: 6
Thanked 111 Times in 26 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
diablo2oo2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by *RemedY* View Post
Shall I send you an example project so you can check that on your own machine? Maybe that's just a problem on some computers. I'm on Win 7 SP1 if that's somehow important.

Thanks for taking your time to look into this issue.

Regards
yes that would be good. i am on win7 x64.
__________________
Thinking In Bytes
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2011, 05:11
diablo2oo2's Avatar
diablo2oo2 diablo2oo2 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 231
Thanks: 6
Thanked 111 Times in 26 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
diablo2oo2 is an unknown quantity at this point
i started to code on v2.24

Quote:
[2.24 BETA]
-improved compatibility for windows 2000
-usage of reg.exe instead of regedit.exe for registry patching
-added regular expressions (PCRE) support to [Text Patch] module
-added regular expressions (PCRE) support to [Registry Check] module
...
http://diablo2oo2.di.funpic.de/forum/index.php?topic=1051.0
__________________
Thinking In Bytes
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2011, 06:52
aldente aldente is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 256
Thanks: 27
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Groans: 19
Groaned at 3 Times in 3 Posts
Reputation: 0
aldente is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
usage of reg.exe instead of regedit.exe for registry patching
Why do you call either of them?

I think it would be MUCH cleaner to just call the approriate API-functions instead of messing with some external executable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2011, 07:33
diablo2oo2's Avatar
diablo2oo2 diablo2oo2 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 231
Thanks: 6
Thanked 111 Times in 26 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
diablo2oo2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by aldente View Post
Why do you call either of them?

I think it would be MUCH cleaner to just call the approriate API-functions instead of messing with some external executable.
its easier to code and safe. reg.exe and regedit.exe are standard windows components

if i would import each registry value with an API functions, this risk of software bugs is higher, because the code is more complex.
__________________
Thinking In Bytes
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-08-2014, 15:51
sendersu sendersu is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 465
Thanks: 290
Thanked 195 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
Reputation: 0
sendersu is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi diablo2002
are there any planned releases so far?
some issues were reported long time ago and no updates .........
missing your good work
thank you
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-08-2014, 19:24
ragdog ragdog is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 44
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 7 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
ragdog is an unknown quantity at this point
I think it gives not updates anymore
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-09-2014, 18:09
sendersu sendersu is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 465
Thanks: 290
Thanked 195 Times in 96 Posts
Groans: 1
Groaned at 1 Time in 1 Post
Reputation: 0
sendersu is an unknown quantity at this point
Then, how about make the dup patcher as an open source?
pls someone talk to hiim who has contact
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-09-2014, 19:56
ragdog ragdog is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 44
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 7 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
ragdog is an unknown quantity at this point
I have a little contact

but i think he make it not open source
You can add new function or bug fix any bugs with the plugin pdk
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ragdog For This Useful Post:
sendersu (03-10-2014)
  #15  
Old 03-24-2014, 09:00
DaRkLiFe DaRkLiFe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Thanks: 17
Thanked 8 Times in 2 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
DaRkLiFe is an unknown quantity at this point
yup been long since 2.26.1
hope you come up woth new features and update soon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
diablo2oo2's Universal Patcher v2.22 diablo2oo2 Software Release 32 01-25-2012 02:51
diablo2oo2's Universal Patcher (dUP) v2.21 - Final Release diablo2oo2 Software Release 5 01-19-2011 04:00
diablo2oo2's Universal Patcher [dUP] 1.13 linhanshi Software Release 3 01-16-2005 02:34
diablo2oo2's Universal Patcher - [dUP] - beta release diablo2oo2 Software Release 34 08-23-2004 01:32


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 10:24.


ICP05004977
Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX