Exetools

Exetools (https://forum.exetools.com/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://forum.exetools.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Crashing a remote app? (https://forum.exetools.com/showthread.php?t=2524)

Rhodium 08-19-2003 15:19

Crashing a remote app?
 
edit1. bah

Lunar_Dust 08-19-2003 23:52

Doesn't this mean that you must be running some sort of client on your end as well? If so, crack the client to return valid. If not, only a buffer overflow attack will be your option to attack a remote program.....

-Lunar

Squidge 08-20-2003 03:03

Yup, my guess is that there is a crc somewhere along the line of your executable etc to prevent cheating. I don't like cheaters, but since you may be doing this for some other reason I will say this: you know what the correct value is and you have an example of an invalid value, so just patch the program to always return the valid one once patched.

Rhodium 08-20-2003 03:17

No, it doesn't involve cheating, but I don't want to mention the actual game here ...etc for obvious reasons.

The problem is if you patch your client, i.e (change the game's asm code) then you will de-synch from the server, and you won't be able to play anyway.

Only the hosts run this extra app, not the clients.


Squidge 08-20-2003 15:52

Yes, but the only reason they know that you have modified your exe is that it transmits a CRC to the server which the extra application uses to throw you off. So you need to patch your exe so it always returns the correct CRC.

Rhodium 08-20-2003 16:44

Quote:

Originally posted by Squidge
Yes, but the only reason they know that you have modified your exe is that it transmits a CRC to the server which the extra application uses to throw you off. So you need to patch your exe so it always returns the correct CRC.
No, the extra app doesn't check your exe. It checks a seperate file that basically tells the server what vehicle config you are using. Basically in the game you customize your own vehicle, then save it, and then take it online.

When you make your vehicle and save it, that is the file that this app checks. Someone told me when this file is created the data is compressed, but it's always just a text file.

So this text file tells the server what vehicle config you are using, and if this extra little app doesn't like the way you built your vehicle, then it kicks you.

Squidge 08-21-2003 19:15

Ah, now I understand how the system works. Is there a chance that you could upload a different vehicle config to the one your client program is actually using?

Lunar_Dust 08-21-2003 20:27

Actually Squidge I don't think that would help, since the server wouldn't then see any of the "improvements" you have. It would work locally, but the server wouldn't know about your super powerful weapons, etc, so in its simulation you would be no better off...

-Lunar

Squidge 08-21-2003 22:44

Hmmm, very true, thinking about it. Not really anything else you can do.

Rhodium 08-22-2003 01:41

Edit: Probably not a good idea to link to the app.



All times are GMT +8. The time now is 16:12.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX