EXETOOLS FORUM

EXETOOLS FORUM (https://forum.exetools.com/index.php)
-   x64 OS (https://forum.exetools.com/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Ram problem (https://forum.exetools.com/showthread.php?t=18245)

moro3391 05-11-2017 21:30

Ram problem
 
hi all
actually i have sony vaio lapto 64bit with 6gb ram i tried to install windows7 32 bit but the problem is the ram when i go to my computer than properties idont
see that 6gb ram only 1 gb ram.

tonyweb 05-11-2017 23:23

hmmm, well. As far as I know 32 bit OSes can't "see" more than 3GB memory space.

The weird thing is that you see only 1 Gb of RAM ... and that, IMHO of course, smells of some hardware failure ... hmm. If you have the RAM in two slots, try swap positions and see if it makes any difference.

Regards,
Tony

P.S. Correct me if/where I'm wrong, thanks.

TechLord 05-12-2017 05:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by moro3391 (Post 109213)
hi all
actually i have sony vaio lapto 64bit with 6gb ram i tried to install windows7 32 bit but the problem is the ram when i go to my computer than properties idont
see that 6gb ram only 1 gb ram.

Depending on the RELEASE of Windows 7 that you are using (for example Windows Starter, Pro or Enterprise) it can only access or "see" a certain amount of RAM even if more RAM has been installed.

LIMITS for Windows 7 can be viewed HERE .

Link to complete article here .

Having said that, 1 Gb seems too low a limit - please post a screenshot.

Cheers :)

DARKER 05-12-2017 14:07

Probably your notebook share system RAM with the Graphic Card (can be 1-2GB)

If you have more ram (>=3gb) installed on 32 system, you can create ram disk that can access rest of ram. E.g. you have 6GB, system use 3GB, so you can create 3GB Ram disk where you place windows swap file, temp directory.. So you use all of your memory.

Or you can try this:
Windows 7 32-bit with full 4 GB or 8 GB RAM support
Code:

http://www.unawave.de/windows-7-tipps/32-bit-ram-barrier.html?lang=EN

Kerlingen 05-12-2017 17:24

Is there any special reason you really don't want to use the 64 bit edition of Windows 7? If your laptop has 6 GB RAM installed I assume it had a 64 bit OS preinstalled. 32 and 64 bit editions of Windows can be used with the same product key (or the same OEM license info in BIOS).

The only reason for installing a 32 bit edition nowdays would be running old games with 64 bit unaware copy protections. For everything else running a virtual machine with a 32 bit OS would be easier.

When your laptop was new, how much RAM did the preinstalled OS show?

moro3391 05-12-2017 18:45

Hi agan
 
3 Attachment(s)
thanks guys for the reply.
i will upload some screen shot for my original windows 7 Home premium 64bit that shows with full 6gb ram and windows home premium 32bit with 2.74 gb not 1gb sorry.
the reason i want to use 32 bit because more easier and the most programmes are compatible with windows 32bit

moro3391 05-12-2017 19:15

Hi Darker
that link you upload shows the same problem of mine
http://www.unawave.de/windows-7-tipps/32-bit-ram-barrier.html?lang=EN
thank you all

Kerlingen 05-12-2017 19:23

All 32 bit Windows desktop editions newer than "Windows XP SP1" are unable to access any memory above 4 GB. This is a license limitation of all 32 bit desktop editions. Server editions have other limits.

For compatibility reasons some memory below 4 GB will be reserved for hardware and not usable. The BIOS will remap this memory above 4 GB.

In your situation you will have the following memory layout:
0.00-2.75 GB: RAM
2.75-4.00 GB: reserved for hardware
4.00-7.25 GB: RAM

So you still could use the full 6 GB of RAM. But the license restriction will just cut off everything above 4 GB, so you will only be able to use 2.75 GB RAM. The registry key storing the LicensedMemory information is protected, you cannot bypass the limit without patching system files. These patched files could be overwritten every time you update your OS or do an error check.

Every normal 32 bit program will run on a 64 bit OS without any restrictions or speed penality. The only expection are device drivers.

TechLord 05-13-2017 03:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by DARKER (Post 109223)
...
Or you can try this:
Windows 7 32-bit with full 4 GB or 8 GB RAM support
Code:

http://www.unawave.de/windows-7-tipps/32-bit-ram-barrier.html?lang=EN

This is great ! I was not aware of this, my friend. Unfortunately, the ""4GB-RAMPatch.exe" file is not available...

While I will do a detailed google search today, it would be nice if you could attach it here for anyone looking for it in the future :)

Cheers

abhi93696 05-13-2017 04:33

I used to use this patch earlier for playing heavy games on 32bit os :D

Command-Line ver-:
GUI version
BR

TechLord 05-14-2017 07:51

Got hold of the OFFICIAL 4GB-RAMPatch today :)

Will release it after checking it out for any possible embedded malware etc in it ...

Can't be too careful when dealing with stuff that works at the kernel level ..

Cheers :)

niculaita 05-14-2017 17:17

http://furulevi.go.ro/enable_more_than_3GB_RAM_on_32-bit_windows_7_(32Bit_RamPatch).htm for 32Bit RamPatch.exe

and http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/System-Tweak/4GB-Patch.shtml for 4GB-RAMPatch.exe


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 11:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX