Exetools  

Go Back   Exetools > General > General Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2005, 15:00
tr1stan
 
Posts: n/a
Cool And another one...Macrovisions RipGuard?

check this out...i wonder how this works...

http://www.macrovision.com/products/ripguard/index.shtml
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2005, 15:44
taos's Avatar
taos taos is offline
The Art Of Silence
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In front of my screen
Posts: 573
Rept. Given: 65
Rept. Rcvd 44 Times in 18 Posts
Thanks Given: 61
Thanks Rcvd at 78 Times in 33 Posts
taos Reputation: 44
http://www.sonydadc.com/products.copy.arccos.go

another tool
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2005, 03:14
visu
 
Posts: n/a
No idea but if it can be played on "existing" DVD player, it can be copied. They also admit this by stating "97% of rippers".

There has been discussions in many video forums on RipGuard, though none gives clue on what is behind RipGuard. But for sure it will not be an additional hardware feature like macrovision ACP.

Visu
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2005, 07:28
aldente aldente is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 263
Rept. Given: 27
Rept. Rcvd 7 Times in 5 Posts
Thanks Given: 26
Thanks Rcvd at 9 Times in 8 Posts
aldente Reputation: 7
one more technology the hollywood studios can spend their money on ...

just a software based "solution" - anything else would not be possible to retain compatibilty with all dvd-players, but it makes it also too weak

sony used a new copy "protection" in a few new titles as well, it did not protect the disc at all

as long as there are dvds, we don't have to worry about copying dvds from the video library
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +8. The time now is 13:06.


Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX
( 1998 - 2020 )