Exetools  

Go Back   Exetools > General > General Discussion

Notices

Old 01-02-2005, 14:56
metro

finding aspack routine

Hi, Im a newbie to this, but Im very interested and want to learn.

Im trying to make a patch for a program that is aspacked - that will jmp to my code from the end of the unpacking routine when the app is run.

I don't know where to start, and could only find some very outdated tutorials that don't outline this area (and the tutorials here - which I can't download yet!).

How do I go about finding the end of the unpacking routine?

(I have ollydbg, but im sure I can 'find' softIce somewhere if needed!)

I have messed around a little making one or two trainers for games, but this side of it is completely new to me.

Sorry if this post is a bit too newbie! (most questions here seem to be rather more.. precise/accurate? (not sure of the word) )
Old 01-02-2005, 23:00
ne_viens

End of unpacking routine looks like this (popa is a good indicator):

Code:
;.....
                add     eax, [ebp+422h]
                pop     ecx
                or      ecx, ecx
                mov     [ebp+3A8h], eax ; fills the push 0 with
                                        ; OEP address below
                popa
                jnz     short goon
                mov     eax, 1
                retn    0Ch
goon:
                push    0
                retn
But.., why you don't want to unpack application entirely, add your code
and run?
Old 01-03-2005, 05:45
The Art Of Silence

Rept. Given: 65
Rept. Rcvd 54 Times in 19 Posts
Thanks Given: 69
Thanks Rcvd at 134 Times in 36 Posts
taos Reputation: 54
I suggest you that read info about "getting the OEP".
Try with packing a very simple ASM file and see the result in olly.
Make a "hello world", see how it runs in olly, pack this file, see how it runs in olly.
You will see how to get the OEP with this packer.
You must STUDY AND READ much before to understand.