Exetools  

Go Back   Exetools > General > General Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2017, 04:26
java3ever java3ever is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Given: 5
Thanks Rcvd at 0 Times in 0 Posts
java3ever Reputation: 0
Resolving Stack Pointer problem

Hello Folks,

So this is my first post here, I hope I did not forget anything about the rules...

I must commit that I am pretty new to Reverse Engineering.
I am experienced in developing highly optimized applications in C++ and OpenCL but I have never worked with assembly language, except testing some intrinsics and looking at the result...

I am currently working on a Delphi XE2 application (the author states this in the manual, IDR uses the Delphi XE2 knowledge database).

My first problem is that IDA is by far not as clever as IDR concerning reversing Delphi applications. I tried transferring all the labels from IDR to IDA via the .idc generator but got many errors stating that some bytes cannot be renamed because the name already exists.

The second and much bigger problem is that there are many many subroutines ending with an sp-error.
I do not have enough experience to fix this and I haven't been able to find any good resources describing this "step-by-step" (I know that one can't give a universal answer to this).
Shouldn't IDA be able to resolve this issue when the application is run and the debugger steps through the function when it is executed?

Thanks in advance...

Greetz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2017, 13:57
sendersu sendersu is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,066
Rept. Given: 332
Rept. Rcvd 223 Times in 115 Posts
Thanks Given: 234
Thanks Rcvd at 512 Times in 288 Posts
sendersu Reputation: 200-299 sendersu Reputation: 200-299 sendersu Reputation: 200-299
post your errors here

sp errors in IDA have manual fix
you have to show the stack number to the left in order to start fixing it.

>Shouldn't IDA be able to resolve this issue when the application is run and the debugger steps through the function when it is executed?

runtime has nothing to do with static analysis.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how can i check bad pointer on asm? DMichael General Discussion 5 03-22-2014 03:03
Bizarre problem resolving imports from KERNEL32 ancev General Discussion 8 12-15-2005 23:11
Any idea, problem after resolving? MAHMUT General Discussion 2 02-10-2005 00:01


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 18:05.


Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX, chessgod101
( 1998 - 2024 )