Exetools  

Go Back   Exetools > General > General Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2004, 06:59
SkyOcean SkyOcean is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 59
Rept. Given: 50
Rept. Rcvd 13 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks Given: 17
Thanks Rcvd at 27 Times in 11 Posts
SkyOcean Reputation: 13
ida remote debug feature

they claimed ida 4.7 has these featureshXXp://www.datarescue.com/idabase/10reasons.htm)
3. Remotely debug Windows programs from Linux.
4. and vice-versa!

however, when I load the linux elf files into the win version ida, the debug menu is invisible, so how can i remotely debug the linux from windows? is this because the key doesn't working or some other reasons? well, FYI the linux version can remotely debug win programs.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2005, 18:56
TQN TQN is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vietnam
Posts: 301
Rept. Given: 129
Rept. Rcvd 11 Times in 9 Posts
Thanks Given: 87
Thanks Rcvd at 55 Times in 21 Posts
TQN Reputation: 11
The Win version of IDA only support debugging Windows Executable File. I don't have Linux and IDA for Linux, but I think the console version of IDA for Linux can debug the Linux ELF file. For remote debugging Linux ELF, DataRescue said: "REMOTE DEBUGGING between Linux and Windows systems. (only singlethreaded linux applications are supported by the debugger). Source code will also be available". For more informations, I suggest you read the tutorial at: hxxp://www.datarescue.com/idabase/remotedebugging/index.htm.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2005, 07:00
SkyOcean SkyOcean is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 59
Rept. Given: 50
Rept. Rcvd 13 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks Given: 17
Thanks Rcvd at 27 Times in 11 Posts
SkyOcean Reputation: 13
Thanks, TQN. I did read the tutor, however, it is about two win boxes.

I also tried to load a win program idb, and the process options set to the remote Linux stuff, it really can work, but since the loaded database wasn't the file I wanted to debug, so you can't set breakpoints. I still guess it is due to the key.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hidden feature of IDA 4.7 sendersu General Discussion 10 01-02-2013 02:28
IDA remote debug Linux Kernel Sergey Nameless General Discussion 3 04-03-2012 04:12
What is the best new feature in ida 4.9? Hero General Discussion 2 10-18-2005 04:58
FlexLM 10.8+ new feature - common vendor daemon dirkmill General Discussion 0 05-21-2005 00:20


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 20:30.


Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX
( 1998 - 2021 )