Friend

Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Rcvd at 2 Times in 2 Posts
wenij Reputation: 0
Is it possible to crack encrypted file?

Hi all,
Recently I got one install file its content seems encrypt by its password. And even I can jump to force to install it,it will have corrupt file ...
I know it seems very hard to crack it. And may just using brute force method or have enough good luck.

Can any one suggest me one solution to crack it if possible ?
Old 02-17-2005, 22:35
VIP

Rept. Given: 112
Rept. Rcvd 27 Times in 13 Posts
Thanks Given: 127
Thanks Rcvd at 84 Times in 35 Posts
Asus Reputation: 28
wenij, is it Installshield or Wise? If it is one of them, you can brute force to get the correct pwd, but it takes you long time to have the fine result.
Old 02-17-2005, 23:39
mihaliczaj

I have to tell I am not that experienced in such things. My first intuitive thoughts for this problem:
1. Somehow (identifying the program used or simply debugging) determine the decryption method used. You don't have to rev.eng. it completely, it is enough if you know how the first some bytes of a file are decrypted having a password given.
2. Find some files where you know what the content should be. Just an example: .exe files should begin with MZ.
3. Examine what matters in the passwd. Sometimes case doesn't matter, look for such things.
4. Write a small prog that tries all different passwds (different in the sense of 3.) to decrypt just those some special files/bytes and check their content (does the decrypted .exe starts with MZ?). This way you will have some passwd candidates.
5. Iterate this method till you will have only few passwd candidates.

Most encryption methods use one-way calculations that means though it is simple to calculate the result having the pass, it is practically impossible to retrieve the pass having the result.