Exetools  

Go Back   Exetools > General > General Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2020, 14:46
jonwil jonwil is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 387
Rept. Given: 2
Rept. Rcvd 21 Times in 9 Posts
Thanks Given: 2
Thanks Rcvd at 65 Times in 34 Posts
jonwil Reputation: 21
IDA Pro error 1491, any fix?

I am running IDA Pro 7.0.170914 along with HexRays x86 7.0.0.170914
I am running a fully up-to-date version of Windows 10.
When I try to run a program in IDA (or attach to an existing program) using the "local window debugger" debugger option, IDA crashes with an "error 1491". Is there a fix (other than spending thousands of dollars on the latest IDA version?)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2020, 22:56
WhoCares's Avatar
WhoCares WhoCares is offline
who cares
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Here
Posts: 409
Rept. Given: 10
Rept. Rcvd 16 Times in 14 Posts
Thanks Given: 41
Thanks Rcvd at 155 Times in 61 Posts
WhoCares Reputation: 17
use remote debugging instead of local debugging to bypass this bug.
__________________
AKA Solomon/blowfish.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to WhoCares For This Useful Post:
niculaita (03-04-2020)
  #3  
Old 03-05-2020, 02:49
chants chants is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 725
Rept. Given: 35
Rept. Rcvd 48 Times in 30 Posts
Thanks Given: 666
Thanks Rcvd at 1,050 Times in 475 Posts
chants Reputation: 48
Is this bug fixed in a later 7.x version?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2020, 10:14
computerline computerline is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 81
Rept. Given: 39
Rept. Rcvd 28 Times in 12 Posts
Thanks Given: 124
Thanks Rcvd at 125 Times in 50 Posts
computerline Reputation: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonwil View Post
I am running IDA Pro 7.0.170914 along with HexRays x86 7.0.0.170914
I am running a fully up-to-date version of Windows 10.
When I try to run a program in IDA (or attach to an existing program) using the "local window debugger" debugger option, IDA crashes with an "error 1491". Is there a fix (other than spending thousands of dollars on the latest IDA version?)
This bug cause by win32_user.dll when use IDA 7.0 with Windows build > 16xxx, as it build with asset from sdk, just comment out the assert and rebuild win32_user.dll (QASSERT(1491, size() < 2) or patch to nopout the check in binary file.

Code:
// winbase_debmod.cpp
// Line 388
// ......
bool ntdll_vec_t::add(eanat_t addr, size_t sz, HANDLE h)
{
  if ( has(addr) )
    return false;

  // max number of ntdlls: ntdll32.dll and ntdll.dll
  //QASSERT(1491, size() < 2);
  ntdll_range_t &r = push_back();
  r.start = addr;
  r.end = addr + sz;
  r.handle = h;
  return true;
}
Fix binary file
https://mega.nz/#!xdcnyQZK!MzO9dQqPZ...DKx5ONkcNGD1ZU

The newer version doen't got this problem.
Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to computerline For This Useful Post:
chants (03-05-2020), deepzero (03-05-2020), niculaita (03-05-2020), RiRye (03-10-2020), zeffy (03-05-2020)
  #5  
Old 03-05-2020, 17:10
jonwil jonwil is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 387
Rept. Given: 2
Rept. Rcvd 21 Times in 9 Posts
Thanks Given: 2
Thanks Rcvd at 65 Times in 34 Posts
jonwil Reputation: 21
Thanks for the info, I didn't know the relavent code was included in the IDA SDK.
Also thanks for the fixed binaries, means I dont need to figure out where I put my copy of the right IDA SDK (and figure out how to properly rebuild the files)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDA 8052 error ? Git General Discussion 7 11-25-2014 19:44


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 09:29.


Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX, chessgod101
( 1998 - 2024 )