EXETOOLS FORUM  

Go Back   EXETOOLS FORUM > General > General Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2018, 19:32
silver silver is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Given: 9
Thanks Rcvd at 2 Times in 2 Posts
silver Reputation: 0
Anyone have used Computer license of IDA?

Recently I heard Hex-rays will not sell named licenses to company users. Instead, they need to buy computer license. According to the rules:

Quote:
Licensed to a specific machine, as many local users as one wants, provided only one of them uses the software at any given time.
However I want to know how they do this. I have a few possible ideas:
  1. collect hardware info when you buy it, and send it to Hex-rays for a license
  2. run the IDA with some "locked" license, the IDA will collect those hardware info, and "activate" the license
  3. send some broadcast messages, and frequently do check to Hex-rays servers to ensure only one copy with one computer ID is running at the same time

I have no computer licenses, and I can not get any binary, so I do not have any clues about if they used any of those 3 ideas, or they used neither. I just want to know how they managed to do this, so maybe I and my friends can use IDA happily again.

Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2018, 20:46
UniSoft's Avatar
UniSoft UniSoft is online now
Family
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shenzhen, China
Posts: 80
Rept. Given: 21
Rept. Rcvd 245 Times in 34 Posts
Thanks Given: 14
Thanks Rcvd at 158 Times in 32 Posts
UniSoft Reputation: 200-299 UniSoft Reputation: 200-299 UniSoft Reputation: 200-299
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver View Post
Recently I heard Hex-rays will not sell named licenses...
After leak of IDA7.0 they remove it from list...
But now it is available again
https://www.hex-rays.com/cgi-bin/quote.cgi?cmd=products

Quote:
Originally Posted by silver View Post
3. send some broadcast messages...
yup, even current version do this...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to UniSoft For This Useful Post:
silver (10-11-2018)
  #3  
Old 10-11-2018, 22:51
silver silver is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Given: 9
Thanks Rcvd at 2 Times in 2 Posts
silver Reputation: 0
Quote:
But now it is available again
Yes, but due to some (human) limitation, I can only buy under a company's name, and they told me I can only use Computer/Floating license if buy under a company's name.

As for the broadcast message....I already removed it, just don't know if they have any special messages under computing license.

Anyway, the key problem is: does hex-rays use hardware-id for computer license?

Wondering someone with a computer license to reply to this thread...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2018, 06:48
ketan ketan is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 58
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 7 Times in 1 Post
Thanks Given: 3
Thanks Rcvd at 25 Times in 16 Posts
ketan Reputation: 7
h*ttps://www.hex-rays.com/products/ida/support/flexlm/
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ketan For This Useful Post:
niculaita (10-12-2018)
  #5  
Old 10-12-2018, 17:30
niculaita's Avatar
niculaita niculaita is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: here
Posts: 950
Rept. Given: 803
Rept. Rcvd 85 Times in 57 Posts
Thanks Given: 1,881
Thanks Rcvd at 196 Times in 119 Posts
niculaita Reputation: 85
only mac address ? https://www.hex-rays.com/activate.shtml
__________________
Decode and Conquer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2018, 20:43
silver silver is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Given: 9
Thanks Rcvd at 2 Times in 2 Posts
silver Reputation: 0
Both
Quote:
Originally Posted by niculaita View Post
only mac address ? https://www.hex-rays.com/activate.shtml
and

Quote:
Originally Posted by ketan View Post
h*ttps://www.hex-rays.com/products/ida/support/flexlm/
are only works for floating license:

Quote:
License activation files are required only for floating licenses.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to silver For This Useful Post:
niculaita (10-14-2018)
Reply

Tags
ida, license

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +8. The time now is 18:04.


ICP05004977
Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX