Exetools  

Go Back   Exetools > General > General Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2004, 07:19
ajron ajron is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poland
Posts: 40
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 33 Times in 7 Posts
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Rcvd at 1 Time in 1 Post
ajron Reputation: 33
vwin32 and win32 service table

Does anybody know if win32 service table in this vxd differ in different (95/9x/me) windows version? I woud like to hook some service by "ordinal" but I saw in icedump sources this code:

FindVWIN32Win32APIs:
push ecx
mov eax,[VWIN32.W32ServiceTable]
mov ecx,[eax] ; W32 API count
sub ecx,byte 4
add eax,byte 4 ; walk the parameter count list
.next:
add eax,byte 8
cmp [eax],byte 2
loopnz .next
jnz @F
cmp [eax+8],byte 2
jnz .next
cmp [eax+8+8],byte 5
jnz .next
cmp [eax+8+8+8],byte 5
jnz .next
sub eax,[VWIN32.W32ServiceTable]
shr eax,3
mov [VWIN32.W32_SetThreadContext],eax
dec eax
mov [VWIN32.W32_GetThreadContext],eax
...

This code search services by specific parameters numbers sequence instead of simple get by ordinal. So?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2004, 07:46
gabri3l's Avatar
gabri3l gabri3l is offline
Parity Error 0x0FF2131D
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Eastern Shore
Posts: 118
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 5 Times in 1 Post
Thanks Given: 8
Thanks Rcvd at 21 Times in 10 Posts
gabri3l Reputation: 5
There is some information here on the compuware site hxxp://frontline.compuware.com/nashua/kb/doc/1322.asp

Just a little bit of advice, calling a function by an ordinal can get very messy. A simple udate can move ordinal 1 to ordinal 2 and cause you a big headache. Also some compilers (borland compiler last time i used it) will not let you import a function using an ordinal.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2004, 08:32
ajron ajron is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poland
Posts: 40
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 33 Times in 7 Posts
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Rcvd at 1 Time in 1 Post
ajron Reputation: 33
I know that calling by ordinal isn't the good idea, but win32_service_table in vwin32.vxd isn't exported by name (it isn't generally exported). But it's not a problem in a vxd world, where all calls are done by ordinal . I'm not afraid of updates, because win 95/9x/me is no longer supported, but I must know if my vxd will be specific only to my computer. Maybe must I use a trick like icedump to avoid problem on others windows?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opcode Table wilson bibe General Discussion 23 04-09-2015 06:00
Creating an export table Nacho_dj General Discussion 12 08-20-2005 02:06
Can`t restore import table thechatter General Discussion 9 11-14-2003 21:01
Changing Import Table?? magic General Discussion 3 09-14-2003 01:59


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 07:16.


Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX, chessgod101
( 1998 - 2024 )