Exetools  

Go Back   Exetools > General > Community Tools

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2023, 03:32
xchwarze xchwarze is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 8
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 3 Times in 3 Posts
Thanks Given: 1
Thanks Rcvd at 25 Times in 5 Posts
xchwarze Reputation: 3
Arrow Universal Tool Updater

Universal Tool Updater is the result of having to deal with keeping the tools I use in my lab up to date.
The idea was to be able to have a universal tool for all the cases that could occur.

You can download it and see the documentation here https://github.com/xchwarze/universal-tool-updater

You can also see an implementation of the same in this other project that I have
Reply With Quote
The Following User Gave Reputation+1 to xchwarze For This Useful Post:
MarcElBichon (03-04-2023)
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to xchwarze For This Useful Post:
b30wulf (03-04-2023), darkBLACK (03-16-2023), foil (03-15-2023), Hypnz (03-07-2023), niculaita (05-07-2024), traf0 (03-17-2024)
  #2  
Old 03-17-2024, 04:46
xchwarze xchwarze is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 8
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 3 Times in 3 Posts
Thanks Given: 1
Thanks Rcvd at 25 Times in 5 Posts
xchwarze Reputation: 3
I took advantage of the Christmas vacations to redo this project

You can find the new fully refactored version here
https://github.com/xchwarze/universal-tool-updater/releases/tag/v2.1.0
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to xchwarze For This Useful Post:
ARUBA (04-29-2024), blue_devil (03-17-2024), sendersu (03-17-2024)
  #3  
Old 03-17-2024, 16:40
sendersu sendersu is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,077
Rept. Given: 332
Rept. Rcvd 224 Times in 116 Posts
Thanks Given: 241
Thanks Rcvd at 515 Times in 289 Posts
sendersu Reputation: 200-299 sendersu Reputation: 200-299 sendersu Reputation: 200-299
@xchwarze
thanks for you nice tool
do you support updater for the archives that do not have version embedded in it's name,
so the vendor just overwrites the previous one, eg:

https://download.sysinternals.com/files/ProcessMonitor.zip
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2024, 02:33
xchwarze xchwarze is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 8
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 3 Times in 3 Posts
Thanks Given: 1
Thanks Rcvd at 25 Times in 5 Posts
xchwarze Reputation: 3
For tools that are not hosted on Github there are two strategies:

1. Regex: You can make use of regex to locate version numbers and download links on websites

2. HTTP Headers: If it is impossible to apply the first method, there is a secondary method that consists of using the "last-modified" header and if the server does not make use of it, "content-length" is used as fallback.

As an example you can see the config file of the updater of my toolkit https://github.com/indetectables-net...ater/tools.ini

In it we can find the example you asked before
Quote:
[Procmon]
folder = ..\..\toolkit\Monitor\Procmon
url = https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/procmon
update_url = https://download.sysinternals.com/files/ProcessMonitor.zip
from = web
local_version = 3.96
re_version = <h1 [^>]*>Process Monitor v(.*?)</h1>
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xchwarze For This Useful Post:
tonyweb (03-18-2024)
  #5  
Old 05-06-2024, 15:20
vic4key's Avatar
vic4key vic4key is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 62
Rept. Given: 5
Rept. Rcvd 24 Times in 10 Posts
Thanks Given: 61
Thanks Rcvd at 98 Times in 23 Posts
vic4key Reputation: 24
@xchwarze Could you release it under the MIT license and GUI support?

MIT License @ https://choosealicense.com/licenses/mit/
__________________
Follow me on GitHub @ https://github.com/vic4key
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2024, 00:08
xchwarze xchwarze is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 8
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 3 Times in 3 Posts
Thanks Given: 1
Thanks Rcvd at 25 Times in 5 Posts
xchwarze Reputation: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by vic4key View Post
@xchwarze Could you release it under the MIT license and GUI support?

MIT License @ https://choosealicense.com/licenses/mit/
I am moving all my developments to GNU LGPLv3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-2024, 02:15
vic4key's Avatar
vic4key vic4key is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 62
Rept. Given: 5
Rept. Rcvd 24 Times in 10 Posts
Thanks Given: 61
Thanks Rcvd at 98 Times in 23 Posts
vic4key Reputation: 24
I couldn't find the project's license. BTW, how do you think about the MIT license?
__________________
Follow me on GitHub @ https://github.com/vic4key
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-07-2024, 14:13
blue_devil's Avatar
blue_devil blue_devil is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Observable Universe
Posts: 283
Rept. Given: 58
Rept. Rcvd 49 Times in 22 Posts
Thanks Given: 250
Thanks Rcvd at 391 Times in 133 Posts
blue_devil Reputation: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by vic4key View Post
I couldn't find the project's license. BTW, how do you think about the MIT license?
After reading this article, I 've found licensing my open source stuff in AGPL more appropriate. What do you think?

BTW we can move the licensing topic to another thread!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-07-2024, 14:55
vic4key's Avatar
vic4key vic4key is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 62
Rept. Given: 5
Rept. Rcvd 24 Times in 10 Posts
Thanks Given: 61
Thanks Rcvd at 98 Times in 23 Posts
vic4key Reputation: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue_devil View Post
After reading this article, I 've found licensing my open source stuff in AGPL more appropriate. What do you think?

BTW we can move the licensing topic to another thread!
When using software or libraries which under the GNU license, users must disclose their own source code, this requirement could not meet with the non-open source software.
__________________
Follow me on GitHub @ https://github.com/vic4key
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-16-2024, 07:02
xchwarze xchwarze is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 8
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 3 Times in 3 Posts
Thanks Given: 1
Thanks Rcvd at 25 Times in 5 Posts
xchwarze Reputation: 3
I understand that the scope of what is mentioned here https://choosealicense.com/licenses/lgpl-3.0/ is always what you license and nothing more than that.

So to be more clear if someone uses my library in a commercial development only my library and the changes that they make to it would be subject to those rules and not the rest of the development.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
updater

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +8. The time now is 14:37.


Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX, chessgod101
( 1998 - 2024 )