Exetools  

Go Back   Exetools > General > General Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2018, 23:54
1ST 1ST is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Jordan
Posts: 92
Rept. Given: 46
Rept. Rcvd 225 Times in 24 Posts
Thanks Given: 2
Thanks Rcvd at 2 Times in 2 Posts
1ST Reputation: 200-299 1ST Reputation: 200-299 1ST Reputation: 200-299
vmprotect v3 debugger detected

Greetings,

i have been away for a couple of years and i can see that a lot of things have been changed, I have been playing around with vmprotect v3 but unfortunately no matter what plugins/options i use my debugger gets detected, anyone know how to successfully hide olly from vmprotect please advise.


Regards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2018, 00:29
sendersu sendersu is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,066
Rept. Given: 332
Rept. Rcvd 223 Times in 115 Posts
Thanks Given: 234
Thanks Rcvd at 512 Times in 288 Posts
sendersu Reputation: 200-299 sendersu Reputation: 200-299 sendersu Reputation: 200-299
show your target if possible
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2018, 01:08
isdebuggerpresent isdebuggerpresent is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 15
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 4 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks Given: 2
Thanks Rcvd at 30 Times in 7 Posts
isdebuggerpresent Reputation: 4
Some vmp antidebug is realized by syscall instructions directly in the VM code instead of calling Nt functions
You can also use TitanHide
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to isdebuggerpresent For This Useful Post:
Stingered (02-03-2018)
  #4  
Old 02-03-2018, 01:50
Stingered Stingered is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 256
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks Given: 296
Thanks Rcvd at 179 Times in 89 Posts
Stingered Reputation: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ST View Post
Greetings,

i have been away for a couple of years and i can see that a lot of things have been changed, I have been playing around with vmprotect v3 but unfortunately no matter what plugins/options i use my debugger gets detected, anyone know how to successfully hide olly from vmprotect please advise.


Regards
I would say try titanhide, as well. But it would also be good to list the options/plugins you have already tried so that people don't have to guess when they suggest alternatives for you.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2018, 03:59
atom0s's Avatar
atom0s atom0s is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 396
Rept. Given: 26
Rept. Rcvd 126 Times in 63 Posts
Thanks Given: 54
Thanks Rcvd at 730 Times in 279 Posts
atom0s Reputation: 100-199 atom0s Reputation: 100-199
Use a Windows XP VM instead of a newer version of Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2018, 04:27
1ST 1ST is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Jordan
Posts: 92
Rept. Given: 46
Rept. Rcvd 225 Times in 24 Posts
Thanks Given: 2
Thanks Rcvd at 2 Times in 2 Posts
1ST Reputation: 200-299 1ST Reputation: 200-299 1ST Reputation: 200-299
i tried windows xp windows 7/8 titanhide scllayhide and no matter what option i use it gets detected,

target can be found here: https://mrt-dongle.org/pages/download

anyone can tell me how to hide olly successfully please let me know plugins used and options.


Regards
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2018, 06:08
Stingered Stingered is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 256
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks Given: 296
Thanks Rcvd at 179 Times in 89 Posts
Stingered Reputation: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ST View Post
i tried windows xp windows 7/8 titanhide scllayhide and no matter what option i use it gets detected,

target can be found here: https://mrt-dongle.org/pages/download

anyone can tell me how to hide olly successfully please let me know plugins used and options.


Regards
Okay, so you're trying the right options...

Did you run the titanhidetest app to verify that everything is installed correctly and not being detected? I would also suggest trying x64DBG. I too prefer Olly, but maybe would make the difference.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2018, 07:00
1ST 1ST is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Jordan
Posts: 92
Rept. Given: 46
Rept. Rcvd 225 Times in 24 Posts
Thanks Given: 2
Thanks Rcvd at 2 Times in 2 Posts
1ST Reputation: 200-299 1ST Reputation: 200-299 1ST Reputation: 200-299
yes i have verified that titanhide is running correctly.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 1ST For This Useful Post:
Stingered (02-03-2018)
  #9  
Old 02-03-2018, 09:10
Aesculapius Aesculapius is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 142
Rept. Given: 1
Rept. Rcvd 42 Times in 27 Posts
Thanks Given: 22
Thanks Rcvd at 456 Times in 118 Posts
Aesculapius Reputation: 43
change windows build number to a random number and you should be good to go. VMP detects debugger based upon hardcoded syscall numbers according to windows build number. If build number is not supported then VMP goes back to old detection methods.

Edit:

Because I see good people is interested in how to bypass this, here its the procedure more or less:

it goes like this: load your target in ollydbg, press G fs:[30] in command bar. At that memory location + 2 bytes you should read 0x01 if debugger is attached or 0x00 if debugger isn't attached (or you have installed any kind of anti-debugging plugin). This is BeingDebugged flag. It tells you are in the right track. At that base address, pointed by fs:[30]) add 0xA4 and you should read OSMajorVersion, and at 0xAC you should read OSBuildNumber. Change these last two parameters to any random number and you should be good to go. _PEB is a per-process structure so it won't affect anything else. I would tell you also to try ollydbg stolystruct plugin to quickly find all of this but its outdated and you could end up modifying a different member of the _PEB struct, although it is worth trying too if you are using win7. Remember _PEB has evolved slightly throughout the years. In any case, such changes have been fully described in this handy reference which is always good to have: http://blog.rewolf.pl/blog/wp-conten..._Evolution.pdf.

Last edited by Aesculapius; 02-08-2018 at 06:51. Reason: some more info added
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Gave Reputation+1 to Aesculapius For This Useful Post:
copyleft (02-09-2018), sh3dow (02-08-2018)
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to Aesculapius For This Useful Post:
cachito (09-25-2018), chants (08-26-2018), ionioni (02-13-2018), m0nix (02-18-2019), niculaita (02-04-2018), schrodyn (04-30-2018), sh3dow (02-08-2018), Stingered (02-03-2018), Tomy73 (02-10-2018), traf0 (02-08-2018)
  #10  
Old 02-03-2018, 12:46
Stingered Stingered is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 256
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks Given: 296
Thanks Rcvd at 179 Times in 89 Posts
Stingered Reputation: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesculapius View Post
change windows build number to a random number and you should be good to go. VMP detects debugger based upon hardcoded syscall numbers according to windows build number. If build number is not supported then VMP goes back to old detection methods.


Nice little tidbit!

More here:

https://lifeinhex.com/tag/vmprotect/
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-08-2018, 00:37
bolo2002 bolo2002 is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 614
Rept. Given: 111
Rept. Rcvd 14 Times in 13 Posts
Thanks Given: 217
Thanks Rcvd at 238 Times in 152 Posts
bolo2002 Reputation: 14
[QUOTE=bolo2002;112161]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stingered View Post


Nice little tidbit!
+Aesculapius,old school and still alive,respect.
__________________
I like this forum!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bolo2002 For This Useful Post:
Aesculapius (02-08-2018)
  #12  
Old 08-26-2018, 09:26
chants chants is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 725
Rept. Given: 35
Rept. Rcvd 48 Times in 30 Posts
Thanks Given: 666
Thanks Rcvd at 1,050 Times in 475 Posts
chants Reputation: 48
Have been revisiting and compiling info on VMP 3.x as trying to automate execution tracing while devirtualizing only key important parts of code on the code on the fly sort of tool. I had wondered why different machines had different behavior.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesculapius View Post
If build number is not supported then VMP goes back to old detection methods.
This explains clearly why I have not seen this behavior while staying in the Windows 10 insider fast ring. Suppose its the one benefit of it .

Respect to the old school reversers who have posted some real knowledge and true info in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-25-2018, 19:52
Sound Sound is offline
Family
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: TaiWan
Posts: 106
Rept. Given: 8
Rept. Rcvd 52 Times in 22 Posts
Thanks Given: 39
Thanks Rcvd at 421 Times in 97 Posts
Sound Reputation: 52
Call IsDebuggerPresent to determine that the return value eax==1 is debugged, and eax==0 is not debugged.

CheckRemoteDebuggerPresent, determine whether the buffer return value is 0 or 1, 1 is debugged, 0 is not debugged.

NtQueryInformationProcess, ProcessInfoClass=0x1E to get the debug handle, to determine whether it is debugged, the debug handle returns 0 and the return value of eax is 0xC0000353

NtSetInformationThread, ThreadInfoClass=0x11, this is not to detect debugging, but to set the debugging information to the debugger, you can directly change 0x11 to 0x3 or other values.

ZwQuerySystemInformation, SystemInfoClass=0x23 (MACRO: SystemKernelDebuggerInformation), the return value is a 2-byte bool value, set to 0.

ZwQuerySystemInformation, SystemInfoClass=0xB (MACRO: SystemModuleInformation), will go through the kernel module, and then judge, the first time is to obtain the buffer length that needs to be stored, the second time is to actually get the information, as long as the buffer is set to 0, Debugging is not detected. As for the location of the buffer, the LocalAlloc application space is used for storage after the first call.

CloseHandle anti-debugging, if it is debugged, then the KiRaiseUserExceptionDispatcher function will be called, go the exception handling process; if it is not debugged, it will not go to the exception process.

Detecting hardware breakpoints is handled by SEH exceptions
First, in the SEH chain, the next software breakpoint for the SEH header of the current module.

Then modify the Dr0, Dr1, Dr2, Dr3, Dr6, Dr7 debug registers to 0.

If it is the GetpRrocessAffinityMask function call when it comes to CALL eax, the anti-debug has passed.

information can be tracked here at VmCall ‘’CALL eax‘’

In addition, after ZwQuerySystemInformation[SystemInformationClass::SystemModuleInformation] gets the list of system modules, the module name and the decrypted strings "sice.sys", "siwvid.sys", "ntice.sys", "iceext.sys", and "syser" .sys" for comparison to complete the test.
The above is the debugger detection bypass of VMP3.0.0-3.2.0

Now, The best solution! ! !
Quote:
Call QueryInformationProcess to detect and use the processing vulnerability of Strong Od plugin to detect Debug.

Kernel NtQueryInformationProcess HOOK it!!!!!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Gave Reputation+1 to Sound For This Useful Post:
niculaita (09-25-2018)
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Sound For This Useful Post:
cachito (09-25-2018), Doit (06-02-2020), kienmanowar (09-25-2018), niculaita (09-25-2018), zeffy (09-25-2018)
  #14  
Old 09-25-2018, 23:28
niculaita's Avatar
niculaita niculaita is online now
Family
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: here
Posts: 1,342
Rept. Given: 947
Rept. Rcvd 89 Times in 61 Posts
Thanks Given: 4,282
Thanks Rcvd at 479 Times in 338 Posts
niculaita Reputation: 89
I have these x64 targets https://passcovery.com/download/passcoverysuite64.exe and
http://anonym.to/?http://passwordrecoverytools.com/store/accentrpr64_setup.exe
and tried to debug its with x64dbg plus hidding plugin set for vmprotect
but got message of debuger detected in memory

some special help ?
__________________
Decode and Conquer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMProtect v1.6 help _503_ General Discussion 3 02-21-2009 13:06
Debugger detected StilLearning General Discussion 4 03-06-2004 08:32


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 08:41.


Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX, chessgod101
( 1998 - 2024 )