Exetools  

Go Back   Exetools > General > General Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2024, 03:03
Kurapica's Avatar
Kurapica Kurapica is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Archives
Posts: 194
Rept. Given: 20
Rept. Rcvd 144 Times in 43 Posts
Thanks Given: 67
Thanks Rcvd at 422 Times in 89 Posts
Kurapica Reputation: 100-199 Kurapica Reputation: 100-199
nVidia drivers or some other OS issue ?

I would like to ask if anyone has noticed this issue, started this July on some Windows machines.

The using of "EnumDisplayDevices" either Ansi or Unicode versions :

Example code : https://stackoverflow.com/questions/9524309/enumdisplaydevices-function-not-working-for-me
Code:
#include <windows.h>
#include <stdio.h>

#pragma comment(lib, "user32.lib")

void DumpDevice(const DISPLAY_DEVICE& dd, size_t nSpaceCount )
{
    printf("%*sDevice Name: %s\n", nSpaceCount, "", dd.DeviceName );
    printf("%*sDevice String: %s\n", nSpaceCount, "", dd.DeviceString );
    printf("%*sState Flags: %x\n", nSpaceCount, "", dd.StateFlags );
    printf("%*sDeviceID: %s\n", nSpaceCount, "", dd.DeviceID );
    printf("%*sDeviceKey: ...%s\n\n", nSpaceCount, "", dd.DeviceKey+42 );
}

int main()
{
    DISPLAY_DEVICE dd;

    dd.cb = sizeof(DISPLAY_DEVICE);

    DWORD deviceNum = 0;
    while( EnumDisplayDevices(NULL, deviceNum, &dd, 0) ){
        DumpDevice( dd, 0 );
        DISPLAY_DEVICE newdd = {0};
        newdd.cb = sizeof(DISPLAY_DEVICE);
        DWORD monitorNum = 0;
        while ( EnumDisplayDevices(dd.DeviceName, monitorNum, &newdd, 0))
        {
            DumpDevice( newdd, 4 );
            monitorNum++;
        }
        puts("");
        deviceNum++;
    }

    return 0;
}

The problems seems to be related to the drivers or some other recent Windows update, The value of "dd.DeviceString"

will have a random suffix : "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB#0x1e00303a45ed6a6a#"

The expected value is "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB" but it adds this "#0x1e00303a45ed6a6a#" value

which seems to be a formatted memory address or something else, anyway it is not supposed to be there and it is definitely not

related to forgetting to Zero-fill the buffer before calling the API.

This value seems to be added in registry too after a fresh driver install and a Windows reboot.

Anyone noticed this weird issue lately with nVidia or AMD ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2024, 13:52
Auremnia Auremnia is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 1
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Rcvd at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Auremnia Reputation: 0
Interesting issue. Did some registry checks out of curiosity and updated my graphics driver to the latest. Win10 x64 Version 22H2 (19045.4651).

For NVIDIA driver package 551.86:
DriverDate = 3-12-2024
DriverVersion = 31.0.15.5186
DriverDesc = NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB
HardwareInformation.AdapterString = NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB
HardwareInformation.ChipType = NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB

For NVIDIA driver package 560.70:
DriverDate = 7-10-2024
DriverVersion = 32.0.15.6070
DriverDesc = NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB
HardwareInformation.AdapterString = NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB
HardwareInformation.ChipType = NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB

So at least I can't see the same issue in the registry with my current setup.
Did not compile any code to test API results.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2024, 14:22
FoxB FoxB is online now
VIP
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Earth...
Posts: 975
Rept. Given: 15
Rept. Rcvd 125 Times in 83 Posts
Thanks Given: 23
Thanks Rcvd at 714 Times in 298 Posts
FoxB Reputation: 100-199 FoxB Reputation: 100-199
For NVIDIA driver package 475.06:
DriverDate = 05/01/2024
DriverVersion = 30.0.14.7506

always without any issue

Device String: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2024, 00:37
Kurapica's Avatar
Kurapica Kurapica is offline
VIP
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Archives
Posts: 194
Rept. Given: 20
Rept. Rcvd 144 Times in 43 Posts
Thanks Given: 67
Thanks Rcvd at 422 Times in 89 Posts
Kurapica Reputation: 100-199 Kurapica Reputation: 100-199
Thanks for your time, it seems to be happening in Windows 10 / 11 on some machines for Chinese users, you will also see the "DeviceDesc" in registry filled with this corrupted string in case you have this issue.

still a mystery !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +8. The time now is 15:01.


Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX, chessgod101
( 1998 - 2024 )