Exetools  

Go Back   Exetools > General > General Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2004, 00:33
peleon peleon is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 174
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 7 Times in 1 Post
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Rcvd at 7 Times in 7 Posts
peleon Reputation: 7
Debugging 64bits apps

Hi,

64bits processors are here! We should start studying that "new" assembly

Anyone knows of a 64bits debugger? I heard about Devpartner64 with VIsual Softice but nothing found...andit looks a quite expensive solution for our needs

Any other thoughts?

Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2004, 03:13
Sarge
 
Posts: n/a
IDA, of course. I know rev 4.7 has it, I don't recall 4.6.

Sarge
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2004, 05:09
peleon peleon is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 174
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 7 Times in 1 Post
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Rcvd at 7 Times in 7 Posts
peleon Reputation: 7
Thanks, i never thought about IDA for debugging

Anyway, anyone have had experiences with DevPartner64? I'm a bit confused about 64bits code because I have seen some drivers compiled for AMD64 and IA64. Arent there compatible? why two versions of a driver for each processor?

...am I wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2004, 05:18
xor37h
 
Posts: n/a
as for softice, check hxxp://frontline.compuware.com/nashua/patches/

specifically near the bottom:

DriverStudio/DriverSuite 3.0.2 patch for 64 bit AMD targets
DriverStudio/DriverSuite 3.0.2 patch for 64 bit INTEL targets.

no need to "buy" anything to play with 64bit targets with good old softice.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2004, 05:33
peleon peleon is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 174
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 7 Times in 1 Post
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Rcvd at 7 Times in 7 Posts
peleon Reputation: 7
Thanks xor37h,

Hmmm...Isnt that to allow to run the 32bits SICE in an 64bits CPU (under a 32bits OS)? Because, what's the point of DevPartner64?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2004, 01:37
indulgence
 
Posts: n/a
IDA 4.6 Had 64 bit debugging but it was rough and buggy. IDA 4.7 or the softice update might be the way to go on this one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
install multikey.sys in windows 8 64bits gusmen x64 OS 8 08-01-2018 13:48
Run Ring0 code in Vista 64bits elephant General Discussion 0 10-02-2007 08:03
Looking for asprotected apps crusader General Discussion 9 02-21-2005 12:37


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 19:57.


��ICP��05004977��
Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX