Notices

Old 07-13-2018, 03:29
Family

Rept. Given: 2
Rept. Rcvd 46 Times in 32 Posts
Thanks Given: 58
Thanks Rcvd at 350 Times in 116 Posts
DavidXanatos Reputation: 46
How to find out how an exe was packed and how to unpack it?

Hi,

I'm trying to use IDA pro on two applications, booth seam not to like that, when trying to open them I get "Can't find translation for virtual address 0x[some number]" also trying to attach a debugger to a already running process results in that process crashing.
One of them just plainly refuses to start when ida is running.

Now I'm a bloody beginner so don't really know how to get around such an obstacle.

Booth Applications are 64 bit binary's although of one of them there is also a 32 bit Version.

The tool "protection id 6.2.3" tells me that that booth applications are protected by Obsidium x64 V1.5 build 5, respectively build 105

Can someone more knowledgeable give me some advice how to tackle such sort of issue.

Cheers
David X.

Last edited by DavidXanatos; 07-13-2018 at 04:07.
Old 07-13-2018, 08:28
VIP

Rept. Given: 35
Rept. Rcvd 48 Times in 30 Posts
Thanks Given: 666
Thanks Rcvd at 1,050 Times in 475 Posts
chants Reputation: 48
You are encountering anti-debugger techniques.

ScyllaHide for example can help you defeat these though Obsidium is quite hard and may not even work in the latest version requiring some custom scripts or tools instead. See:
Quote:
ScyllaHide is an open-source x64/x86 usermode Anti-Anti-Debug library.
Quote:
https://github.com/nihilus/ScyllaHide
But perhaps you should learn about the nice Search feature of the forum first as it can certainly help novices who have a bit of information go down the right path: https://forum.exetools.com/showthread.php?t=16245

And after you read and properly digest that discussion, probably if you are new to this, you would be best trying some easier unpack targets first before going to a difficult one but this depends on how you work best.
Old 07-13-2018, 16:33
VIP