Exetools  

Go Back   Exetools > General > General Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2003, 14:41
Xet
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy SoftICE Versions

Hi,

Please tell me which is the latest version of SoftICE, that
I should download for application debugging on WinXP.

After reading almost all of the threads containing "SoftICE"
I'm still confused. I dont know which is the latest version
and which files to download.

What is the difference between Compuware DevPartner
and Compuware DriverSuite and NuMega SoftICE?

If DriverSuite is for only for driver development, why is everyone
in the forums recommends downloading DriverSuite 3.0?

And finally if I should download SoftICE DriverSuite 3.0, do
I have to download Compuware Driver Studio 3 Beta also?

Thanks for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2003, 21:50
ricnar456 ricnar456 is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 290
Rept. Given: 1
Rept. Rcvd 28 Times in 10 Posts
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Rcvd at 52 Times in 40 Posts
ricnar456 Reputation: 28
SOFTICE 4.30

hxxp://www.pediy.com/tools/Debuggers/SoftICE/SoftIce%204.3NT/Sice430_Lite.rar

This file is the last softice 4.30, has the full set for crackers and has not the other things not interest, works very well, only install reboot and work.

Ricardo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2003, 02:14
Xet
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the link
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2003, 05:20
LOUZEW's Avatar
LOUZEW LOUZEW is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Britanny
Posts: 99
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 2 Times in 1 Post
Thanks Given: 4
Thanks Rcvd at 5 Times in 5 Posts
LOUZEW Reputation: 2
SI

Hi, Ricnar456
I've read somewhere this package don't have the symbol loader, this utility is very usefull for us ! !

Hi, Xet
you can D/L the 3.01 or 3.02 version of Driver suite (3.02 is same than 3.01 but packed with the ver 2.7 for W98), you can install only SoftIce if you want, choose options you want during install !
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-25-2003, 06:49
ricnar456 ricnar456 is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 290
Rept. Given: 1
Rept. Rcvd 28 Times in 10 Posts
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Rcvd at 52 Times in 40 Posts
ricnar456 Reputation: 28
you are wrong

This package has symbol loader and work FULL FOR CRACKERS , where you read this, i install and has SYMBOL LOADER and function perfectly.

Ricardo narvaja
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-25-2003, 15:48
Dinetti Dinetti is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 59
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Rcvd at 1 Time in 1 Post
Dinetti Reputation: 0
Thumbs up

Thx @ricnar456!

Dinetti
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-25-2003, 17:16
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Ricardo,

this release works great

Many Thanks

[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-26-2003, 06:04
LOUZEW's Avatar
LOUZEW LOUZEW is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Britanny
Posts: 99
Rept. Given: 0
Rept. Rcvd 2 Times in 1 Post
Thanks Given: 4
Thanks Rcvd at 5 Times in 5 Posts
LOUZEW Reputation: 2
to ricnar456

Hi, Ricnar

I've seen one of your posts on an other board (i think it's you), but there is a mistake, cause only WLDR missing (for 16bits apps).

Sorry for that !
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-26-2003, 07:29
ricnar456 ricnar456 is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 290
Rept. Given: 1
Rept. Rcvd 28 Times in 10 Posts
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Rcvd at 52 Times in 40 Posts
ricnar456 Reputation: 28
WDLR

All crackers use Symbol Loader, is very rare crackers use WLDR, in years i never use and when i ask and put in the carpet, i don''t need really but this loader don't function how i think, in 16 bits the better is go to W98 and crack there, in XP carcking in 16 bits with WLDR or with no WLDR is a very frustating thing.
The package has all cracker need for work in XP and goes very well.
Ricardo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-09-2003, 10:40
ferzen
 
Posts: n/a
brak at OEP

Hi

I was not able to break at the entry point through the symbol loader. Any suggestion are wellcome

regards

ferzen
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-09-2003, 20:14
Cheema Dev
 
Posts: n/a
Ferzen Quote:
Quote:
I was not able to break at the entry point through the symbol loader. Any suggestion are wellcome
First you should make a thorough search and then post. Anyway d/l the Sice patch by Kayaker from Wasm.ru from the following link.
Quote:
h**p://www.wasm.ru/toollist.php?list=10
Or
Try to d/l the OSINFO.DAT file from Compuware support site for winXP/2K and place it in %Windir%\system32\drivers .AND using Symbol Retriever d/l the symbols for your Ntoskrnl.Exe and load that in Sice and add the line NTSYMBOLS=ON in the Start>Programs>Compuware DS>Settings>Softice Initialisation (Avanced). And Reboot the machine.


Regards.

Last edited by Cheema Dev; 12-09-2003 at 20:34.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-09-2003, 20:47
yaa
 
Posts: n/a
Ricardo,

does Softice Light require any of the patches from Compuware such as the one for the service pack 4 of windows 2000 or the new OSInfo.dat file????


yaa
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-09-2003, 21:00
Cheema Dev
 
Posts: n/a
Hi Yaa,

If you Siloader is breaking at the Entry point then I think there is no need. Its a good idea to have the newer version of Osinfo.Dat

Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-10-2003, 08:23
yaa
 
Posts: n/a
I tried applying Driver Studio 3.0 service pack 2 with Softice Light installed and it says it cannot find any component of Driver Studio installed on the machine. As for Osinfo.Dat where should it be found (I'm away from home and can't verify if and where it can be found) with Softice Light installed???

yaa
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-10-2003, 09:04
tulipfan
 
Posts: n/a
yes, in "%\SystemRoot%\system32\drivers"
and SP2 only update "siwvid.sys"
New version i will upload! with iceext 5.6 and SP2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dumping images with newer SoftICE versions bone General Discussion 3 02-20-2007 03:23
Softice not working ... what versions are you using??? yaa General Discussion 5 12-14-2003 05:46
Detailed SoftIce Installation guide for new versions, please aldente General Discussion 3 07-08-2003 04:38


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 02:19.


Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX
( 1998 - 2021 )