Exetools  

Go Back   Exetools > General > General Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2005, 21:22
Git's Avatar
Git Git is offline
Old Git
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Torino
Posts: 1,115
Rept. Given: 220
Rept. Rcvd 265 Times in 157 Posts
Thanks Given: 108
Thanks Rcvd at 216 Times in 124 Posts
Git Reputation: 200-299 Git Reputation: 200-299 Git Reputation: 200-299
Difficult debugging situation

A GUI exe calls several console apps for transitory functions. Some of those exe's call A.dll and A.dll calls exports from B.dll. The exports from B.dll are wrappers around flexlm 9.2 library functions.

Any suggestions on how this can be debugged please? (with the aim of finding all the flexlm keys).


Git

(Admin _ i've put this here because I thought it could be edducational for other too. Please move to Requests if you think it more appropriate. )
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2005, 10:33
nskSem
 
Posts: n/a
In B.dll set "int 03h" in interesting for you place, and use JIT Debugger or SoftIce with "I3HERE ON". Don't foget to correct code (int 3 -> right code).
And of course h++p://www.woodmann.com/crackz/Flexlm.htm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2005, 07:31
upb's Avatar
upb upb is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Elbonia
Posts: 63
Rept. Given: 5
Rept. Rcvd 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Given: 3
Thanks Rcvd at 0 Times in 0 Posts
upb Reputation: 0
Wouldnt
1) breakpointing CreateProcess in GUI exe
2) on every break
2.1) changing the flags to suspended and tracing over CreateProcess
2.2) attaching a separate debugger to the new process
2.3) breakpoint every export in A.dll
work?
I'm not sure if 2.2 will work, dont know if you can attach a debugger to a process that's created suspended.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2005, 19:50
Peter[Pan]
 
Posts: n/a
i agree with the last post's either set the int3 in the places you need them, you should have a rough idea where the flexlm functions are located, then just let it crash and debug from there, or like the last person said you can trace the createprocess call's, either emulate them if they are doing (OldProc->CreateNewProc->KillOldProc) (NewProc->FlexLM), or just attach as after they are supended.

Its possible for you to msg me the target name and url ?
id be intrested to look
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2005, 20:13
Git's Avatar
Git Git is offline
Old Git
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Torino
Posts: 1,115
Rept. Given: 220
Rept. Rcvd 265 Times in 157 Posts
Thanks Given: 108
Thanks Rcvd at 216 Times in 124 Posts
Git Reputation: 200-299 Git Reputation: 200-299 Git Reputation: 200-299
I'm persuing the INT3 approach which seem to be a good idea. Not quite ther yet though. Thanks for your help guys.

Git
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's not so difficult to produce two md5-collided exe files BlackWhite General Discussion 20 01-11-2016 18:03
cracking jcreator, is it difficult? doby General Discussion 6 09-27-2004 16:15


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 11:39.


Always Your Best Friend: Aaron, JMI, ahmadmansoor, ZeNiX, chessgod101
( 1998 - 2024 )